Winner photographs of the Wildlife Photographer of the Year 2013

Share this post on FB:

The time has come. Just like every year the Natural History Museum of London announced the winners of the renowned Wildlife Photographer of the Year awards during an official ceremony held in England’s capital.
The competition is divided as usual in several categories for both young and adult photographers.
The first prize for adults went to Greg du Toit with the photo Essence of Elephants.
The winners of the younger categories 15-17, 11-14 and 10 years and under were respectively Mateusz Piesiak, Udayan Rao Pawar and Louis Pattyn.

If you are going to London before 23 march 2014 remember that the best photos of the contest are on display at the Natural History Museum until that date. Otherwise an international tour is planned to begin at the end of november.

In the following list you will see our favorite entries with the relative category. What’s your favorite one? Tell us in the comments.

If you enjoy this post, don’t be selfish, share it with your friends via Facebook or Twitter.

Adult Awards:

Grand title winner and Animal portraits: Greg du Toit, Essence of elephants


Animal portraits (joint runner up): Hannes Lochner, Curiosity and the cat


Animal portraits (joint runner up): Peter Delaney, Showdown


Behaviour – Cold blooded animals winner: Luis Javier Sandoval, Dive buddy


Behaviour – Mammals winner: Joe McDonald, The spat


Animals in their environment winner: Paul Souders, The water bear


Animals in their environment commended: Jérémie Villet, On top of the world


Wildscapes winner: Sergey Gorshkov, The cauldron


Creative visions winner: Jasper Doest, Snow moment


Creative visions commended: Marsel van Oosten, Resurrection


Portfolio award winner: Erik Hosking


Young Awards:

Grand title winner and 11-14 years: Udayan Rao Pawar, Mother’s little headful


15-17 years winner: Mateusz Piesiak, Last light


15-17 years runner-up: Etienne Francey, Freeze frame


15-17 years commended: Etienne Francey, Harvest gold


10 years and under winner: Louis Pattyn, Peacock at sunrise